History of Kossuth County
Current day Kossuth County borders has gone through changes. In 1851 it was originally split into two counties, Bancroft and Kossuth. By 1855 Kossuth was one county, reaching from the Minnesota border to include most of present day Humboldt County to the south. In 1857, Humboldt County was created, giving Kossuth its present boundaries. In May of 1870, the upper half of Kossuth County was renamed Crocker County. In 1913, legislation was introduced to divide Kossuth County and create Larrabee County in the north half, but voters failed to approve the division.
Here you can find the History of the Kossuth County Fair beginning in 1858.
Copyright 2009 - 2017 This page last updated on - December 25, 2016 5:36 PM
Local - Home